Press Release: Prime Minister’s Cup 2021

The Ministry of Education Sports and Culture in partnership with the newly established Samoa Primary Schools Principals Association and the Samoa Rugby Union, will be hosting their first ever Primary School’s Rugby 7s Nationals Championship at Marist Lotopa on Thursday 13th and Friday 14th of May. The two day tournament will feature 20 teams representing different districts who will be vying for the Prime Minister’s Cup in the U14 Division with the aim to provide students the opportunity to demonstrate their skills and to enable them to experience quality sports. These 20 teams are divided into four pools as follows:

Previously, this event was usually organized by the PM’s Cup Committee and was conducted every year in the format of 15 aside. This year, things have changed recently with the Samoa Primary Schools Principals Association on board and there has been a slight change of tournament format from 15s to 7 aside to coincide with the College Rugby Sevens Championship that begins on Wednesday 12th of May.

The tournament kicks off at 8:00am and will include a March parade and a short service.


Afamasaga Dr. Karoline Afamasaga – Fuata’i

Written by